DSWD releases Nona emergency shelter assistance to 13 LGUs

- Date Posted: February 23, 2017

CATARMAN, Northern Samar – The Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) has released the Typhoon Nona emergency shelter assistance (ESA) to 13 local government units in the province of Northern Samar earlier this month.

Social Welfare and Development Head Nena Getalado said the thirteen towns were Bobon, Biri, Capul, Gamay, Lapinig, Lope de Vega, Pambujan, Rosario, San Antonio, San Isidro, San Vicente, Victoria, and Silvino Lubos.  

She said ESA is a limited cash assistance or material assistance for disaster-affected families with either partially or totally damaged houses located in safe areas or in sites provided with engineering or scientific interventions to make it habitable.

She further informed that the totally damaged houses will receive 13,000 while the partially damaged will get P8,000.00 per household.

Ms. Getalado advised the LGUs to strictly follow the guidelines to avoid confusion and anger on the part of the beneficiaries, and smooth implementation during distribution.

A grievance desk will be installed during the pay out to iron out issues and concerns, she added.

She also clarified that the grievance desk will be manned by DSWD region 8 personnel based in Catarman.

Typhoon Nona devastated the province a year ago with the  assistance released this month.

Eleven other towns will receive their share pending the completion of the needed required documents. (ajc/tbc-pia8northernsamar)