CATARMAN, Northern Samar — The Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) and the Department of Agriculture (DA) highlight each agency’s thrusts under the administration of President Rodrigo R. Duterte  being pillars for ASEAN integration as presented during the ASEAN Information Kiosk Launching and Small Forum at Provincial Capitol Lobby, province of Northern Samar.

As he expounds his topic on Rich and Economically –Driven Communities, DTI Provincial Director Stanley Tabiando, stressed the importance of empowering micro enterprises to achieve prosperity for all. Achieving the development goals is through ensuring inclusive business, inclusive growth and addressing income inequality.

These interventions, according to Tabiando, will empower those at the bottom of the pyramid and marginalized sector with the right mind set and know how to move up in life.

The role of agriculture, on the other hand as discussed by Ms. Belen De Pedro, Project Evaluation Officer IV of the regional Department of Agriculture, is to prepare the farmers, fishermen, women and rural youth for the production of various crops, live stocks and fisheries, train them how to process and produce quality products derived from agriculture and make them available for foreign and ASEAN countries.

Further, Northern Samar as one of the poorest provinces of the country is a beneficiary of SAAD (Special Area for Agricultural Development) program concentrated for the production and livelihood of the poorest farmers and communities in the province.

On the first ASEAN Kiosk launching in the province, PIA region 8 officer-in-charge Alicia Nicart, introduced and presented the overview and project brief of ASEAN Integration to more than 200 participants to include local government leaders, vice-governor, board members, mayors, barangay officials, heads of national and local agencies, students, media, among others.

Message of support was expressed by Vice-Governor Gary Lavin and Board Member Fawa Batula representing the provincial government, Vice-Mayor Butch Bonsol, representing the capital town of the province, Mr. Fermin Honey from the media, Mayor Clarence Datu of the League of Municipalities and Mr. Rei Echano of the Provincial Information Office.  (ajc/ADiaz, PIA8-NSamar)