CATARMAN, Northern Samar — The Provincial Board of Canvassers (PBOC) in Northern Samar proclaimed the newly-elected provincial and congressional officials at the Sangguniang Panlalawian Session Hall, Capitol Building, Catarman, Northern Samar in the afternoon of May 16.

The PBOC was composed of the Commission on Elections (Comelec) Provincial Election Supervisor Atty. Fidel Amacna, Provincial Prosecutor Atty. Rosario Diaz, and Schools Division Superintendent Dr. Carmela Tamayo of the Department of Education.

Incumbent Governor Jose L. Ong, Jr. was proclaimed as the winning representative of the second district of the province, while Paul Daza was declared as winner for the first district.

Both got an overwhelming win over their opponent.

Edwin Ong, who ran as governor, and Incumbent Vice Governor Gary Lavin were unopposed. They were proclaimed winners in their bid as re-electionists.

Proclaimed winners for the Sangunniang Panlalawigan members were: Neil Hernandez, Christian Emmanuel Uy, Hazel Dela Rosa, Pascacio Joshua Maria Vicario, and Golda Ballesta for the first district.

For the second district winners are Florencio Batula, Maria Ana Avalon, Tess Gillamac, Gina Silvano, and Albert Lucero.

Nine out of the ten sangguniang panlalawigan members are all from the Daza-Ong coalition group and majority of the winning mayoralty, vice mayoralty, councilors were candidates of the coalition. This year’s poll winners’ proclamation is much earlier than the previous elections. (NBQ/TBC/PIA Northern Samar)