Northern Samar is one of the three (3) provinces in Samar Island. It is a part of Region VIII, the Eastern Visayas Region, and its provincial capital is Catarman.

The province is classified as 2nd class, and has a total land area of 3,498 square kilometers or 349,800 hectares. It is composed of 24 municipalities and 569 barangays. (**from PDPFP) Based on the 2010 records from the Philippine
Statistics Authority (PSA), the total population of the province is 589,013 with an average growth rate of 1.64% from 2007-2010 population census.

The total number of households is 113,980 and the average household size is 5.2. The provincial government of Northern Samar has its office at the New Capitol Building in Catarman, the capital town.