CATARMAN, Northern Samar – The Northern Samar Provincial Task Force to End Local Communist Armed Conflict (PTF-ELCAC) organized 232 Barangay Task Forces in the towns of Allen, Catarman, Gamay, Laoang, Mondragon, Rosarion, San Roque, Victoria, Lope de Vega, and San Isidro.

This is according to DILG OIC Provincial Director Danilo Laguitan during the Kapihan sa PIA on March 3.

He said that the government through EO 70 or the institutionalization of the whole-of-nation approach is sincere in its effort for the attainment of inclusive and sustainable peace.

He added that local armed conflict is not only a military concern but everybody’s concern, thus, a retooled community support program was formulated in order to strengthen the community support program initiatives of the military and making the effort Local Government Units (LGU) driven.

Part of the strategy of the task force is for local government units, with the use of the Retooled Community Support Program (RCSP) to engage the community to collaborate and co-create with their local government developments and solutions to local issues.

Of the four identified pilot municipalities in the province, only two municipalities finished with their Serbisyo Caravan and barangay development planning.

The other towns still await the clearing operations to ensure perimeter security of the target barangays during the entire duration of the immersion is safe.

He then explained that the program is anchored on the empowerment framework geared to provide needed government services to the community, open and access available platform for democratic participation where everyone is involved.

The LCE will serve as the head of the municipal task force.

Being the head, he is in-charge of the deployment of the team to the target barangay for immersion. He should also ensure that development initiatives are properly delivered, immediate needs are properly programmed for funding and implementation, the DILG official said. (nbq/tbc/pia8-northernsamar)