CATARMAN, Northern Samar — The official deployment of uniformed personnel under the Retooled Community Support Program (RCSP) commenced on March 22 during the simultaneous send-off activity initiated by the PNP Northern Samar at the Northern Samar Police Provincial Office (NSPPO).

RCSP Team from Northern Samar Police Provincil Office, Regional Mobile Force Battalion, Special Action Force, and 803rd Brigade of the Philippine Armt. Also in photo are officers from the Bureau of Fire Protection and BJMP. (PIA-N. Samar)

PNP Deputy Director for Operations presented 214 personnel who have undergone Community Support Program Operations Training from NSPPO, Regional Mobile Force Battalion (RMFB), Special Action Force (SAF) and 803rd Brigade of the Philippine Army.

From these trained personnel, 30 teams composed of 132 uniformed men will be deployed to nine  municipalities initial recipients of the program, the towns of Victoria, San Isidro, Lavezares, Catubig, Las Navas, Bobon, Pambujan, Laoang and San Roque.

Representing the League of Municipalities of the Philippines Northern Samar Chapter, Mayor Galahad Vicencio and President of the Liga ng mga Barangay President Liza Esidera accepted the teams in behalf of municipalities and barangays. Mayor Vicencio encouraged his colleagues to support the shared goal to end the decades-long thievery, terrorism and economic sabotage being done by the CTG.

In a message of PNP Regional Director PBGen Ronaldo De Jesus as read by PNP Provincial Director Col. Arnel Apud, he said the government is serious to end the more than half a century battle with the communist terrorist groups that have been exploiting innocent Filipinos, hundreds of lives were sacrificed both in the government side and the innocent civilians.

“The Police Regional Office 8 is committed to sustain the programs on Retooled Community Support Program to bridge the gap between the people and the government in order to sustain development and lasting peace,” De Jesus pointed out.

Various partner agency members of the Provincial Task Force ELCAC also aired their support and commitment to the program as expressed by BFAR OIC Director Norberto Berida, DTI Provincial Director Mimosa Regis, DILG LGOO Ms. Elaine Abigail Delorino, 803rd Deputy Brigade Commander Col. Efren Morado and PIA Provincial Manager Ms. Ailene Diaz in behalf of PIA Regional Director Erlinda Olivia P. Tiu.

(L-R) BFAR OIC Dir. Norberto Berida, PIA N. Samar Manager Ailene Diaz, DTI Provincial Director Mimosa Regis, PNP Provincial Director Col. Arnel J. Apud, Board Member Fawa Batula, 803rd Deputy Brigade Commander Col. Efren Morados, LMP Northern Samar Chapter President Mayor Galahad Vicencio, DILG LGOO Ms. Elaine Abigail Delorino and Liga ng mga Barangay President Liza Esidera. (PIA-N. Samar)

In his message delivered by Board Member Fawa Batula, Gov. Edwin Ongchuan affirmed empowering communities as a necessary step to end local communist armed conflict as manifested in the RCSP, joining the efforts of the government, non-government and private sector to address the development gaps in communities.

“The RCSP significantly harmonizes and optimizes our efforts as well as resources, to respond to the root causes of insurgency to attain sustainable peace and development,” Gov. Ongchuan stressed.

“The provincial government assures our partners that we will continue our support to RCSP. We will pursue service delivery down to the farthest barangays through our Kauswagan Caravan which we have been conducting since my first year in office. I believe that through constant delivery of services, in agriculture, health, livelihood and other areas, our people will no longer have reason to put up arms against the government,” said the governor.

Board Member Fawa ends his message with the words of Mother Theresa, “We don’t need guns and bombs to attain peace, what we need is love and compassion.”

The event was attended by the barangay officials and Mayor Harris Ongchuan of Laoang, Mayor Don Abalon of San Roque, Mayor Felipe Sosing of Pambujan, Mayor Clara Gremio, Mayor Edito Saludaga of Lavezares,  Mayor Guillermo Jumamil of Victoria, Mayor Ferdinand Avila of San Isidro and Mr. Noriel Tan representative of the mayor of Las Navas. (ldl/ADiaz/PIA-N. Samar)